Less of a Woman?

titanicI read a story where Kate Winslet had lied in an interview about the birth of her first-born. She was ashamed of having had an emergency caesarean and that as a woman she should have been able to give birth as nature intended.

I admit that I felt a twinge of regret after having my emergency surgery but it was only slight. I know that my caesarean saved my daughter’s life and mine. She was frank breach and in distress. I will forever be grateful to the team of people who made her breath for the first time and then introduced me to her.

We as women should be supporting each other and not judging each other. I am not less of a mother because I didn’t spend 36 hours of pushing and cursing. There shouldn’t be a divide between Stay-at-home moms vs. Working moms, or Bottle fed vs. Breast fed. We are all just moms doing the best we can.

crying-toddlerBelow is a Love Letter to our c-section moms: http://thestir.cafemom.com/baby/131563/a_love_letter_

Leave a Reply

